Monday, May 24, 2010

Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan trailer

We love the continuing trend of publishers creating trailers to promote their upcoming books! Although this trailer for Scott Westerfeld's new steampunk novel Leviathan originally came out last September, we think it's worth watching again.

Check out the trailer here.

Friday, May 21, 2010

100 more reasons to join the Summer Reading Program!

We are very excited to announce that thanks to a VERY generous donation, we will be raffling off 100 (yes, that's right - ONE HUNDRED) $5 gift cards to Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf to teens participating in our 2010 Summer Reading Program - Make Waves @ Your Library! Sign up online or in person beginning June 29, 2010!

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Will Grayson, Will Grayson
By John Green & David Levithan
Check Our Catalog

BookPage Notable Title
One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens--both named Will Grayson--are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history's most fabulous high school musical.

An unusual love story
Review by Dean Schneider

"Much depends on a best friend," Will Grayson says. And when that best friend is Tiny Cooper, friendship is a big deal. Literally. Tiny is 6'6", so huge that when he sheds a tear, it could drown a kitten. So huge that one of his sobs measures on the Richter scale in Kansas (and he lives in Chicago). Will believes that Tiny may just be "the world's largest person who is really, really gay, and also the world's gayest person who is really, really large." Tiny and Will have been friends since fifth grade, and Will stood up for Tiny when a school-board member argued against gays in the locker room. But recently Will has become too disengaged from life. He lives by two simple rules that have helped him to survive high school: "1. Don’t care too much. 2. Shut up."
Will Grayson is not gay, but in one of many funny scenes in his first-person narrative, he meets another Will Grayson in a Chicago porn shop who is gay, and who begins a dramatic relationship with Tiny. This Will's story forms the other half of Will Grayson, Will Grayson, by John Green and David Levithan, who each wrote one of the Wills.

As it turns out, the original Will still needs Tiny, too. Tiny is the one who does care, who always speaks his mind, who lives in larger-than-life drama and color. And when Tiny puts on a musical, it becomes the vehicle by which each character finds meaning and order in the universe. The musical is Tiny's gift to the world, and his gift to the original Will Grayson is an appreciation of life and a repudiation of his anti-life rules.

Tiny will long live in readers' imaginations--provided they have imaginations large enough to contain him. For an older young adult audience, this book about love, friends and what matters in life will be one of the best books of the year.

© 2010 BookLetters LLC

Saturday, May 01, 2010

Keep an eye out for these new books in TeenSpace!

The Sky Is Everywhere

By Jandy Nelson

Lennie Walker, a 17-year-old bookworm and band geek, spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey suddenly dies, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life.

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they are the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block.

Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.
© 2010 BookLetters LLC - Privacy Policy